Faculty of Education, Social Sciences and Law

Sociology and Social Policy

Policy

Informing and interpreting policy in a broad range of areas

In this Section:

The Policy Academic Area seeks to address a wide agenda of contemporary debates and issues at the intersection of social policy and sociology. Key considerations include:

  • the ways in which the responsibilities of the public to participate in civic, civil and political life are shaped, and the various strategies used to ‘activate’ and ‘responsibilise’ citizens to act in particular ways.
  • the application of realist methods to the evaluation of health and social care policies and programmes.
  • disability studies.
  • international, especially European, perspectives on disability and public policy.
  • social policy and inequalities in relation to the labour market and the welfare state.
  • global racism studies.
  • state-driven immigrant integration in its voluntary and mandatory policy variants.

MPA Public Administration      PhD

Or, view all masters programmes

 

Social Impacts of Local Energy Developments (SLED): A case study of Tidal Lagoon Swansea Bay

This research is using the proposed Tidal Lagoon Swansea Bay (TLSB) renewable energy development as a case study to explore the role of communities in energy developments, and the social and economic impact of local energy infrastructure.

Learning Disability Health Service Quality-Checkers and User-Led Quality Measures

This project responds to concerns about the disadvantage experienced by people with learning disabilities (including Autism) in healthcare.

Realist Evaluation of Adapted Sex Offender Treatment Programs for Men with Intellectual Disability

 

Featured publications are shown below. For more information about individual staff members including journal entries please visit the People tab and review their staff page.

Andrea Hollomotz

Learning Difficulties & Sexual Vulnerability

Andrea Hollomotz - Learning Difficulties & Sexual Vulnerability 

Ian Law

Caribbean Racisms: Connections and Complexities in the Racialization of the Caribbean Region

Ian Law - Caribbean Racisms: Connections and Complexities in the Racialization of the Caribbean Region

Mark Priestley

Disability and Social Change: Private Lives and Public Policies

Mark Priestley - Disability and Social Change: Private Lives and Public Policies

Dr Julia Bahner
Marie Curie Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Tel: 0113 343 4434
Email: j.bahner@leeds.ac.uk

Dr. Roxana Barbulescu
University Academic Fellow in New Migrations in UK and Europe
Tel:
Email: r.barbulescu@leeds.ac.uk

Dr Adam Formby
Teaching Fellow
Tel: 0113 343 1809
Email: A.Formby@leeds.ac.uk

Dr Joanne Greenhalgh
Associate Professor
Tel: 0113 343 1359
Email: j.greenhalgh@leeds.ac.uk

Dr Rune Halvorsen
Marie Curie Research Fellow
Tel: 0113 343 0669
Email: R.Halvorsen@leeds.ac.uk

Dr Andrea Hollomotz
Lecturer in Disability and Crime
Tel: 0113 343 7298
Email: A.Hollomotz@leeds.ac.uk

Professor Ian Law
Professor of Racism and Ethnicity Studies
Tel: 0113 343 4410
Email: i.g.law@leeds.ac.uk

Dr Ana Manzano
Lecturer in Health & Social Policy
Tel: 0113 343 1290
Email: a.manzano@leeds.ac.uk

Dr Simon Prideaux
Associate Professor of Social Policy, Sociology, Disability Studies and Crime
Tel: 0113 3434423
Email: S.J.Prideaux@leeds.ac.uk

Professor Mark Priestley
Professor of Disability Policy
Tel: 0113 343 4417
Email: m.a.priestley@leeds.ac.uk

Dr Albert Varela
Lecturer in Quantitative Methods
Tel: 0113 343 4427
Email: a.varela@leeds.ac.uk

Dr Katy Wright
Lecturer in Sociology & Social Policy
Tel: 0113 343 6936
Email: k.j.wright@leeds.ac.uk

© Copyright Leeds 2018